Inside | Real news, curated by real humans
Inside Music

Inside Music (Jan 17th, 2020)

Each Friday, I'll highlight a few of the most notable songs and albums being released today that you should know about:

1. Notable music releases out today:

  • Halsey - "Manic"
  • Eminem - "Music To Be Murdered By"
  • Mac Miller - "Circles"
  • 2 Chainz and Future - "Dead Man Walking"

Unexpectedly, rapper Eminem has released a new album today. "Music To Be Murdered By" features plenty of guest artists including, most notably, Juice Wrld who passed away just one month ago.

Mac Miller's last studio album is also being released today. "Circles" was finished by producer Jon Brion with the support of Miller's family, based on conversations he had had with Miller before his death in 2018.

2. Song recommendation: Phoebe Bridgers - "Smoke Signals"

From John McGinnis, maker of and formerly of the band The Jealous Sound:

"There is something beautiful and haunting about Phoebe Bridgers' music, particularly this song. The metaphors are spot on, the melancholy in the guitars, and all of it delivered with this soft voice that's pretty and earnest with a just enough of hint of sarcasm that gives it an edge."

If you'd like to see her perform live, Phoebe Bridgers will be hitting the road with The 1975 on their North American tour dates starting in April.

3. Recording Academy CEO Deborah Dugan has been placed on administrative leave in light of a "formal allegation of misconduct by a senior female member of the Recording Academy team." Dugan recently started in the role in August. The organization will be conducting two independent investigations, using two third-party investigators. The news comes only nine days before the 2020 Grammys award show on Sunday, January 26. — ROLLING STONE

4. Some of the biggest musical acts have been announced for this year's Governor's Ball at Randall's Island Park in New York. The music festival will take place June 5-7 and features artists like Tame Impala, Vampire Weekend, Missy Elliot, Stevie Nicks, Solange, and Flume, and many more. Tickets go on sale today, starting at 9 am PT on — STEREOGUM

5. Apple Music and NBA have launched an exclusive new playlist called BASE:LINE. The global playlist will be updated regularly and feature a mix of new and established artists. It will be curated by Apple Music’s director of hip-hop and R&B, Ebro Darden and people on his team. Darden said, "BASE:LINE is a playlist that gets closer to the community where the artist and the music is beginning." — 9TO5MAC

6. Green Day is debuting a new track, "Oh Yeah," via music video, ahead of their new album. The video is meant to be a reflective piece about society's use of mobile phones and everyone's attempt at 15 minutes of fame. On top of that, the band mentions in the video's description that they will be donating the royalties from the song to IJM and RAINN because they "sampled a song from the great Joan Jett’s Bad Reputation album. One of the writers on that song is a total a******." — UNDER THE RADAR

7. In one of the first Super Bowl commercial previews of the year, MC Hammer thanks Cheetos for his hit song, "U Can’t Touch This." The teaser clip shows the artist sitting at a piano, but unable to touch the keys because of orange Cheetos-fingers. Although the Super Bowl is still nearly three weeks off, MC Hammer's hit is celebrating its 30th anniversary this week. — AD AGE

8. Ten-time Grammy winner Carlos Santana is starting a line of new cannabis products. Santana will partner with Left Coast Ventures, a cannabis company that's previously worked with Grateful Dead drummer Mickey Hart. His new cannabis products will be available at dispensaries this summer in California, with his CBD products coming later in the fall. Santana has long advocated for legalized marijuana and soon, he will have his own strain. — THE PRESS DEMOCRAT

9. The Naked and Famous announced a new album is coming and released the first new single, "Bury Us." The upbeat and synth-pop band will release the album "Recover" on May 16. Though the first track remains similar to the band's past sound, "Recover" will be the first album with a new lineup. Jesse Wood and Aaron Short left the band in 2018, making The Naked and Famous a duo of Alisa Xayalith and Thom Powers. — NME

10. In addition to the already mentioned songs above, other new releases have filtered out this week as new albums start to be announced for the year. These songs range from acclaimed indie artists like Soccer Mommy, Pinegrove, and Andy Shauf, to the long-time pop star Mandy Moore making her comeback after 10 years from her last album:

Tyler Hayes is a writer and early adopter in both music and technology. He's based in California and has contributed to Fast Company, BuzzFeed, and Billboard, among others. You can reach out at @TylerH.

Edited by Sheena Vasani, staff writer at Inside.

Subscribe to Inside Music